Menu Close

New board members at Comair


The exodus of board members from Comair following the resignation of CEO Eric Venter in July 2019, has seen a number of new board members take up duties. The members had all served for many years leading to questions regarding their independence.

Former chairman Pieter van Hoven resigned from the board in October 2019, after 46 years with Comair which also owns and operates British Airways flights in Southern Africa.

Rodney Sacks resigned from Comair’s board on 31 December after 39 years of service

Martin Moritz resigned on 2 January. 2020 after 40 years on the board.

Kirsten King, financial director, also resigned in 2019, effective end-February 2020.

Four new directors

Capt. Colin Jordaan, former General Manager, Flight Operations at South African Airways and former Director of the South African Civil Aviation Authority,

Ms. Nompumelelo (Mpumi) Madisa, CEO designate of Bidvest Group Limited;

Ms. Farzanah Mall chartered accountant, business advisory and management consulting specialist, and strategist;

and Mr. Tebogo Mekgoe, Executive Director of Orenda Advisory & Strategy and the head of the MBA Programme for the Henley Business School, Africa

were appointed.

Mr. Naran Maharajh, chairman of the Audit Committee and an Independent Non-Executive Director, has been appointed as the lead Independent Non-Executive Director, with immediate effect.

Mr. Kim Gorringe, new Company Secretary effective 16 February 2020. Kim who has more than 30 years’ experience in Regulatory and Legal Affairs, Risk Management and stakeholder engagement in Aviation, currently serves as Comair’s Executive Manager: Governance, Risk and Compliance.

Other Executive appointments include Dr. Avsharn Bachoo, as Chief Information Officer effective 1 February 2020. Dr Bachoo is a technology strategist specializing in digital transformation, software engineering, data analytics, machine learning, cloud computing, DevOps, and enterprise architecture.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *